Skip To Main Content

Board of Education

Board Trustees

The Mount Vernon City School District Board of Education - the official policy-making body of the school district - works closely with the Superintendent of Schools and his administration to oversee educational and enrichment programs to provide the best possible outcomes for students. The nine board members are elected by the public and service three-year terms without paid compensation.

The areas of Board responsibility include:

  • Exercising educational leadership and drafting policies for the effective operation of the Mount Vernon City School District.
  • Employing the Superintendent of Schools
  • Confirming appointments of administrators, teachers and other district staff members
  • Setting goals for educational standards
  • Adopting a yearly budget and authorizing certain expenditures
  • Expressing and representing the views of the community in matters affecting educational programs and needs of the community.

Feedback from the school community is welcomed by all members of the Board of Education either at monthly meetings or via email at the addresses listed below. 

Lorna Kirwan Headshot

Lorna Kirwan, President 
(Term expires June 30, 2025)

Head and shoulders Sabina Kelley

Sabina Kelley, Vice President 
(Term expires June 30, 2026)

Board Pres. Adriane Saunders

Adriane Saunders 
(Term expires June 30, 2025) 

Wanda White 
(Term expires June 30, 2024)  

Head and Shoulders Helene Njenga

Helene Thompson-Njenga
(Term expires June 30, 2024)

Trustee Warren Mitchell

Warren Mitchell II 
(Term expires June 30, 2026)

Trustee Lynne Middleton

Dr. Lynne Middleton 
(Term expires June 30, 2026)  

Trustee Gayle

Orville Gayle
(Term expires June 30, 2024)  

Board Meetings

The Mount Vernon City School District Board of Education meets monthly to conduct the routine and necessary business of the District. Meetings are held at the Mount Vernon City School District Education Center located at 165 N. Columbus Avenue. Meetings begin at 6:30 p.m. and are open to the public. Special meetings can be called, as necessary, to address emerging and urgent matters.  

2023-2024 Meeting Schedule

Thursday, July 6, 2023

Reorganizational Meeting

Tuesday, August 15, 2023

Regular Meeting

Tuesday, September 5, 2023

Regular Meeting
Tuesday, September 19, 2023 Regular Meeting

Tuesday, October 3, 2023

Regular Meeting

Tuesday, October 17, 2023

Regular Meeting

Tuesday, November 7, 2023

Regular Meeting

Tuesday, November 21, 2023

Regular Meeting

Tuesday, December 5, 2023

Regular Meeting

Tuesday, December 19, 2023

Regular Meeting

Tuesday, January 9, 2024

Regular Meeting

Tuesday, January 23, 2024

Regular Meeting

Tuesday, February 13, 2024

Regular Meeting

Tuesday, March 5, 2024

Regular Meeting

Tuesday, March 19, 2024

Regular Meeting

Tuesday, April 16, 2024

Regular Meeting
Tuesday, May 7, 2024 Regular Meeting

Tuesday, May 21, 2024

Regular Meeting/Budget Vote/Trustee  Election

Tuesday, June 4, 2024

Regular Meeting

Tuesday, June 18, 2024

Regular Meeting


Board Committees

The Mount Vernon City School District utilizes standing committees to review information, provide an opportunity for community input, study the impact or potential impact decisions may have on our students, schools, community etc., and explore options on issues and requests for action which come before it. 

The committees provide the opportunity for discussion and information sharing relating to their subject areas prior to presentation of recommendations to the full Board. 

The Board of Education established committees and committee membership during the annual reorganization meeting held in July each year. It is at the sole discretion of the President of the Board of Education to appoint Chairpersons and members to each standing committee. 

The established committees are as follows: 

  • Audit (Meetings scheduled as necessary) 
  • Budget (Meetings scheduled as necessary) 
  • Curriculum & Instruction (Last Thursday before the first Tuesday of each month at 8 a.m. at the Education Center) 
  • Facilities (Wednesday at 8 a.m. in the Office of the Senior Architect) 
  • Family and Community Engagement (Meetings scheduled as necessary) 
  • Health, Wellness & Safety (First Tuesday of the month at 5:30 p.m.- Education Center) 
  • Policy (Meetings scheduled as necessary) 

*All meetings take place at the Education Center unless otherwise noted. 

Trustee Building Assignments

Trustee Building Assignment
President Kirwan Mount Vernon STEAM Academy and Nelson Mandela/Dr. Hosea Zollicoffer School
Vice President Kelley Mount Vernon Leadership Academy and Pennington School
Trustee Lenci Mount Vernon High School and Traphagen School
Trustee Gayle Benjamin Turner Academy and Grimes School
Trustee Mitchell  Mount Vernon Honor Academy and Edward Williams School
Trustee Middleton Graham School, Cecil H. Parker School and Rebecca Turner Academy
Trustee Njenga Hamilton School and Mount Vernon Honor Academy
Trustee Saunders Denzel Washington School of the Arts, Mount Vernon High School and Rebecca Turner Academy
Trustee White Rebecca Turner Academy and Lincoln School


Trustee Committee Assignments

Trustee Committees
President Kirwan Audit Committee, Budget/Finance Committee, Claims Committee, Human Resources Committee, Insurance Committee, Policy Committee 
Vice President Kelley Audit Committee, Budget Committee, Education Committee, Human Resources Committee 
Trustee Gayle Audit Committee, Budget and Finance Committee, Claims Committee, Family and Community Engagement Commitee, Industrial Development Agency Committee
Trustee Lenci Audit Committee, Claims Committee, Facilities Committee, Insurance Committee, Safety and Security Committee 
Trustee Middleton Audit Committee, Family and Community Committee, Facilities Committee, Safety and Security Committee
Trustee Mitchell Audit Committee, Facilities Committee, Safety and Security Committee, Wellness Committee
Trustee Njenga Audit Committee, Education Committee, Policy Committee, Safety and Security Committee, Special Education Committee
Trustee Saunders Audit Committee, Budget Committee, Claims Committee, Industrial Development Agency Committee, Insurance Committee, Human Resources Committee, Policy Committee, Special Education Committee
Trustee White Audit Committee, Education Committee, Facilities Committee, Human Resources Committee, Special Education Committee