Skip To Main Content

Parent Liaisons

Each school has a Parent Liaison who is responsible for engaging the parents and guardians in the school community. The position answers to the Assistant Superintendent of School Improvement. The Parent Liaison’s functions include:

  • Creating a welcoming environment at the school for parents and guardians.
  • Working with the Office of School Improvement, principal, school staff and PTA to identify parent and related school community issues to see that they are addressed in a timely manner.
  • Assisting parents in setting goals and education development for their children.
  • Partnering with community groups and agencies to promote their involvement in the school and provide information and direction as needed.
  • Meeting with the principal or the principal’s designee(s) to develop and review work plans and assess the impact of the liaison’s work on student outcomes. 

Find contact information for the Parent Liaison at your child’s school in the list below.

Daveda Lassiter
MV STEAM Academy & Graham School
Tel: 914-308-4340
Email: dlassiter@mtvernoncsd.org

Elizabeth J. Smith
Grimes School & Denzel Washington School of the Arts
Tel: 914-308-4251
Email: esmith1@mtvernoncsd.org

Maura Gutierrez
Mount Vernon Leadership Academy & Hamilton School
Tel: 914-308-4220
Email: mgutierrez1@mtvernoncsd.org

Nakia Hiland
Parker School & Mount Vernon High School
Tel: 914-308-4347
Email: nhiland@mtvernoncsd.org

TBD
Benjamin Turner Middle School & Edward Williams School
Email: TBD

Sandra O'Connor
Lincoln School & Nelson Mandela Zollicoffer School
Tel: 914-308-4231
Email: so'connor@mtvernoncsd.org

Tania Galin
Traphagen School & Rebecca Turner School
Tel: 914-308-4224
Email: tgalin@mtvernoncsd.org

Veronica Graham
Mount Vernon Honors Academy
Tel: 914-308-4248
Email: vgraham@mtvernoncsd.org

Pamela Valdovinos
Pennington School
Tel: 914-308-4238 
Email: pvaldovinos@mtvernoncsd.org