Skip To Main Content

Curriculum & Instruction

The role of the Office of Curriculum and Instruction is to support teachers and school leaders in ensuring teaching and learning opportunities meet the needs of our diverse students here in the City of Mount Vernon. This Department is responsible for the K-12 instructional program and for the coordination of professional development to provide continuous education and instructional support to the District’s professional staff. As a team of district administrators and staff, school leaders, teachers and parents, we are able to ensure success for our students.

Our mission as educators is to motivate, encourage, and support students by providing a safe, secure, and nurturing environment to educate them socially, emotionally, and cognitively as build a foundation for life-long learning. Teachers are committed to providing opportunities for all students to grow and develop together in and outside of the classroom through engaging experiences.

Curriculum Maps
The Mount Vernon City School District is committed to ensuring its students graduate career- and college-ready. Our goal is to provide rigorous, high-quality curricula and instructional materials to all schools within our district and ensure student engagement and achievement. 

Our curriculum, which is aligned to the Common Core Learning Standards (CCLS) and NYS content learning standards, is organized by grade level to provide a coherent and rigorous structure which builds upon and scaffolds skills that students need to know as they progress in their academic career.

The District has undertaken a project of updating its entire curriculum map. The project is anticipated to be complete in 2023. Click the link below for the most up-to-date curriculum map.

Updated Districtwide Curriculum Map

Additional Resources

Contact Info

Dr. Jamal Doggett
Assistant Superintendent for Elementary Curriculum, Instruction and Administration
jdoggett@mtvernoncsd.org

Dr. Beverley A. Jones
Assistant Superintendent for Secondary Curriculum, Instruction and School Improvement
bjones@mtvernoncsd.org

Patricia DeNisco 
Administrative Assistant for Curriculum and Instruction 
pdenisco@mtvernoncsd.org 

Marybeth Rhodes
Director of Humanities
mrhodes@mtvernoncsd.org

Brian Simmons
Director of CTE
bsimmons@mtvernoncsd.org

Lisa Mayzun
Director of Health & Physical Education
Lmayzun@mtvernoncsd.org

Dr. Gayle White-Wallace
Director of Pre-K, Gifted & Talented and Special Projects
gwhite@mtvernoncsd.org

Dr. Satish Jagnandan
Director of STEAM
sjagnandan@mtvernoncsd.org

Dr. Marguerita Circello
Director of ENL and World Languages 
mcircello@mtvernoncsd.org